An examination of the Golden Globe Winners

I do not really understand the function the Golden Globes serve. Frankly, it just feels like a distraction before the Oscars, something that allows Vegas bet takers to improve their odds. At best, it does offer some overlooked performances to walk away with an award (when they don’t win an Oscar). However, I never find myself excited about the Golden Globes, which is why I chose not to do a recap.

However, they are important to analyze, mostly because it gives a good hint for what will win an Oscar. Therefore, I will do so, and try to determine whether or not their win will translate to an Oscar win.

I will only be covering the big categories for film (plus one I was very happy to see). I will not be covering any of the television wins, simply because I am not knowledgeable of all of the nominees. One thing about watching a lot of films is that you miss a lot of TV. I think Ebert originally wrote that line, and if so, he is absolutely correct. Anyway, these wins will likely help us determine who will come out victorious at the Oscars.

Best Picture – Drama-WINNER: The Social Network. Well, I think we officially have our Oscar favorite now. The film is probably going to end up winning most of the “big five” (Specifically, Best Picture, Best Director, and Best Adapted Screenplay…it will be nominated for Best Actor but it probably won’t win in that category).  Oh, by the way – it was released on DVD last week, so now is the time to see it for yourself if you have not done so.

Best Picture- Comedy or Musical-WINNER: The Kids Are All Right. Well…yea. This category was complete garbage this year, and frankly it was no contest as to who was going to win. I think it was NPR who created their own nominations in this category. It included Scott Pilgrim and Easy A, two of my favorite films from the past year. It also included The Runaways, a film I had some problems with, but a film that is certainly more deserving to be nominated than, say, Alice in Wonderland. Still, The Kids Are All Right was the best in the category and will probably be nominated for Best Picture.

Best Screenplay – Motion Picture-WINNER: Aaron Sorkin for The Social Network. This was a pretty difficult category, actually. Inception and The Kids Are All Right were both nominated. I have a feeling Inception may end up winning Best Original Screenplay at the Oscars, but adapted, hands down, will go to Sorkin.

Best Director – Motion Picture – WINNER: David Fincher for The Social Network. I think IMDB had a poll over this category, which stated that Christopher Nolan was the favorite. Indeed, he will probably be nominated as an apology for the shun The Dark Knight received. Yet I still think that David Fincher will ultimately win best director. He, too, has been shunned in the past and his film here is the best of the year.

Best Actor in a Motion Picture – Drama-WINNER: Colin Firth for The King’s Speech. I just saw the film over the weekend and was absolutely amazed by Firth’s performance. It does not surprise me that he won here. It will not be surprising if he wins Best Actor.

Best Actor in a Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical – Paul Giamatti for Barney’s Vision.  You know, I was not really familiar with any of the nominees, except for Johnny Depp’s in Alice in Wonderland, which frankly did not deserve to be nominated for anything. I am definitely intrigued by the win and will try to see the film.

Best Actress in a Motion Picture – Drama-WINNER: Natalie Portman for The Black Swan. Yea, in my original review I kind of guessed as much. Honestly, the Oscar for Best Actress this year will come between her and Annette Bening. Both actresses are equally deserving of the award, and it will be an interesting race.

Best Actress in a Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical – WINNER: Annette Bening for The Kids are All Right. See above. Although I would like to point out that many expected Julianne Moore to win. Frankly, however, Annette Bening deserves the award far more.

Best Score – Motion Picture WINNER: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross – The Social Network. I was just excited about this win, as Nine Inch Nail’s has been my favorite band for some time. Actually, this is a very unusual score to see win anything, with its emphasis on a techno/rock background that does not depend on the classical orchestra. Listening to it again though, it captures the film perfectly. Maybe it will actually win an Oscar.


This entry was posted in Special Articles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

